The visa · United Arab Emirates
United Arab Emirates
The UAE offers a residence permit expressly for people employed by an organisation abroad, sold under the name Virtual Work Residence, plus a five-year self-sponsored Green visa for licensed freelancers and free-zone freelance permits that carry a two-year residence visa. There is no personal income tax, but tax residency and immigration residency are separate tests and a freelancer whose UAE business turnover passes AED 1 million falls into corporate tax. The point to know before applying is that the remote-work permit allows work only for an employer outside the UAE, and any invoicing of UAE clients needs a licence.
- Nomad visa · September 2026YesRoutes4Bases1
- Dubai12 pieces
Remote jobs open to United Arab Emirates
Listings whose hiring region includes this country, newest first · apply on the board's own page
- Business Services Team ManagerAnywhere
- Performance Engineer - Performance Analysis & TuningAnywhere
- Performance Engineer - BenchmarkingAnywhere
- Business Development RepresentativeAnywhere
- Supalite EngineerAnywhere
- Cloud Platform EngineerAnywhere
- Release EngineerAnywhere
- Early Childhood Teacher (PT)Anywhere
The routes
Researched 9 September 2026 · rules as of September 2026 · as published, not legal advice
Nomad visa
Virtual Work Residence Permit (remote work visa)
Issuance of the Virtual Work Residence Permit / Residence for virtual work
An employee of a company outside the UAE, or a business owner abroad, who wants to live in the UAE for a year without a local sponsor while continuing to work for the overseas organisation.
- Income floor
- USD 3,500 per month or equivalent in another currency, shown by a salary certificate, as published by GDRFA Dubai and ICP. Some advisers report that Dubai has asked for six consecutive months of bank statements since late January 2026; this is not on the official service card and could not be verified.
- Duration
- One year, renewable on reassessment of the same conditions.
- Cost
- GDRFA Dubai service card lists AED 200 residence permit, AED 10 knowledge dirham, AED 10 innovation dirham, AED 500 domestic fee and AED 20 delivery (about AED 740). ICP for other emirates lists AED 300 (application AED 100, issuance AED 100, smart service AED 100). Medical fitness test, Emirates ID and health insurance are charged separately; advisers quote around AED 1,225 all-in for Dubai.
- Processing
- GDRFA publishes a completion time of 48 hours for a complete file; ICP states two days for the visa service alone, excluding the medical test and Emirates ID production.
- Eligibility
- Any nationality. Proof of remote work for an organisation outside the UAE, minimum income as above, health insurance, medical fitness test. No UAE sponsor or host required.
- Work rights
- Remote work for an organisation outside the UAE only. The permit does not authorise employment by a UAE employer, a trade or professional licence, or invoicing UAE customers.
- Dependants
- The GDRFA service card does not address family. Advisers report that a spouse and children can be sponsored through the ordinary family-residence process if the general sponsorship conditions are met, and dependant permits cannot outlast the sponsor's permit.
- Leads to
- No published path to permanent residence or citizenship; the UAE has no ordinary naturalisation route for residents. Holders can move to a Green or Golden visa if they later qualify.
- Apply
- In-country or from abroad online: GDRFA Dubai website and app or Amer centres for Dubai; ICP smart services for the other emirates.
Documents Colour personal photograph · Passport copy · Health insurance copy · Medical fitness test result · Proof of remote work for an organisation outside the UAE (employment contract or proof of company ownership) · Salary certificate showing at least USD 3,500 per month or equivalent · Emirates ID application receipt
Freelance / self-employed
Green Visa for freelancers and self-employed
Green Residence Visa (freelance / self-employment category)
An established freelancer with a degree and a two-year income record who wants a five-year residence without an employer or free-zone company sponsor.
- Income floor
- Annual income from self-employment of at least AED 360,000 in each of the previous two years, or proof of financial solvency for the length of the stay, as published by the Abu Dhabi Residents Office and u.ae.
- Duration
- Five years, renewable for the same term if the conditions are still met.
- Cost
- Fees are not stated on the official pages opened; a MOHRE freelance permit, medical test, Emirates ID and insurance are separate costs.
- Processing
- Not published on the pages opened.
- Eligibility
- Freelance work permit issued by the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation (MOHRE); bachelor's degree, specialised diploma or equivalent; income or solvency proof as above. Any nationality.
- Work rights
- Freelance work inside the UAE under the MOHRE permit; local clients allowed within the permitted activity. Local employment would need a separate work permit.
- Dependants
- Green visa holders sponsor themselves and may sponsor family members under the general family-residence rules; children can be sponsored to age 25 as published on u.ae.
- Leads to
- No; the UAE has no permanent residence status and no ordinary naturalisation for residents.
- Apply
- Online through the ICP portal (icp.gov.ae) for all emirates; GDRFA for Dubai. The Abu Dhabi Residents Office states that nominations for this category are currently unavailable through its office.
Documents MOHRE freelance work permit · Bachelor's degree or specialised diploma · Proof of AED 360,000 annual self-employment income for the previous two years, or proof of financial solvency · Passport, photograph, health insurance and medical fitness result (standard residence file)
Freelance / self-employed
Free-zone freelance permit with residence visa
Freelance permit (e.g. GoFreelance, Dubai Development Authority) plus employment residence visa
A freelancer who wants to bill UAE and foreign clients legally and hold a two-year residence, without meeting the Green visa income record.
- Income floor
- None published; the permit is bought, not income-tested.
- Duration
- Permit renewed annually; the linked residence visa runs two years.
- Cost
- Advisory and property-portal sources put the GoFreelance permit at AED 7,500 per year and a two-year permit-plus-visa package at roughly AED 12,100 to 17,500 including establishment card, medical and Emirates ID. These are not government-published totals and vary by free zone.
- Processing
- Advisers report two to four weeks from permit to visa stamping; no official figure.
- Eligibility
- Activity must fall within the free zone's permitted list (media, technology, education, design and similar); portfolio or CV; any nationality.
- Work rights
- Freelance work for UAE and foreign clients within the licensed activity. Not local employment. One adviser reports that Dubai TECOM freelance clusters had paused visa issuance in 2026 and that Northern Emirates permits are being paired with Dubai residence instead; this is a single source and unverified.
- Dependants
- Spouse and children can be sponsored once the residence visa is issued, subject to the general income threshold for family sponsorship.
- Leads to
- No.
- Apply
- In-country or from abroad through the free zone (GoFreelance portal for Dubai Media City and Dubai Internet City; comparable schemes in Ajman, Ras Al Khaimah, Sharjah and Fujairah), then GDRFA or ICP for the visa.
Documents Passport copy and photograph · CV or portfolio for the chosen activity · Bank reference or proof of address (varies by zone) · No-objection letter from a current UAE sponsor if already resident
Temporary stay
Visit visa and visa-on-arrival stays
Entry permit for tourism / visit (30-day, 60-day and 90-day multiple-entry categories)
A remote worker testing the country for one to three months before committing to a permit.
- Income floor
- None published for visa-on-arrival nationals; pre-arranged tourist visas require the sponsor or airline to file.
- Duration
- 30 days on arrival for many nationals, 90 days in any 180 for EU and some others, 14 or 60 days for the June 2026 residence-permit-holder category; extension of 30-day visas is possible in-country for a fee.
- Cost
- Visa on arrival for eligible nationals is free of charge. The new 14-day and 60-day visas announced in June 2026 cost AED 100 and AED 250 respectively.
- Processing
- Immediate at the border for eligible nationals; pre-arranged visas typically three to five working days according to airline and adviser guidance.
- Eligibility
- By nationality; see the visa-free table. Others need a pre-arranged visa via an airline, hotel or licensed agent.
- Work rights
- No published permission to work. Remote work for an overseas employer is widely reported as tolerated; any work for a UAE entity is not permitted.
- Dependants
- Each family member enters on their own passport under the same rules.
- Leads to
- No.
- Apply
- At the border for eligible nationals; otherwise through an airline, hotel or licensed typing centre before travel.
Documents Passport valid for at least six months · Return or onward ticket (may be asked) · Proof of accommodation (may be asked)
Without a visa, by passport
The stay you get on arrival, and whether working remotely on it is tolerated
- EU / EEA / SwitzerlandMultiple-entry visa on arrival, 90 days in any 180 daysRemote work for an overseas employer is not addressed in published rules and is widely reported as tolerated; local work is forbidden without a permit.
- United KingdomVisa on arrival, 30 days, extendable in-country for a fee; some compilations list 90 days, the official u.ae page could not be opened to settle itSame as above: not published, reported as tolerated for foreign employers only.
- United StatesVisa on arrival, 30 days, extendable; some compilations list 90 in 180Not published; reported as tolerated for foreign employers only.
- CanadaVisa on arrival, 30 days, extendable; some compilations list 90 in 180Not published; reported as tolerated for foreign employers only.
- AustraliaVisa on arrival, 30 days, extendable; some compilations list 90 in 180Not published; reported as tolerated for foreign employers only.
- IndiaVisa on arrival, 14 days, only with a valid visa or residence permit from the US, UK, EU, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Japan, Singapore or South Korea; otherwise a pre-arranged visaNot published; reported as tolerated for foreign employers only. The 14-day visa is extendable once as reported.
- BrazilMultiple-entry visa on arrival, 90 days in any 180 daysNot published; reported as tolerated for foreign employers only.
- South AfricaPre-arranged visa normally; since June 2026, visa on arrival for 14 days (AED 100) or 60 days (AED 250) for South Africans holding a valid residence permit from the US, an EU state, the UK, Singapore, Japan, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand or CanadaNot published; reported as tolerated for foreign employers only.
- JapanVisa on arrival, 30 daysNot published; reported as tolerated for foreign employers only.
- Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, KenyaPre-arranged visa normally; since June 2026, visa on arrival for 14 or 60 days if holding a residence permit from the listed countriesNot published; reported as tolerated for foreign employers only.
Tax
When the country starts counting you as its taxpayer
- Residency trigger
- Cabinet Decision 85 of 2022, in force since 1 March 2023 and clarified by Ministerial Decision 27 of 2023, makes a natural person UAE tax resident if any of three tests is met in a consecutive 12-month period: physical presence of 183 days or more; presence of 90 days or more together with a UAE residence permit (or UAE/GCC nationality) and either a permanent place of residence continuously available in the UAE or employment or a business in the UAE; or the person's usual or principal place of residence and centre of financial and personal interests being in the UAE. Any part of a day in the country counts and days need not be consecutive. A Tax Residency Certificate is issued on the EmaraTax portal within 10 business days for AED 50 submission plus AED 1,000 for a natural person not registered for tax (AED 500 if registered) and AED 250 per hard copy.
- Special regime
- There is no personal income tax on salary, remote-employment income or personal investment income, so no special newcomer regime exists. Federal corporate tax at 9 per cent above AED 375,000 of taxable profit applies to a natural person only where turnover from UAE business activities exceeds AED 1 million in a calendar year (Cabinet Decision 49 of 2023, effective 1 June 2023); wages, personal investment and personal real-estate income are excluded from that threshold. Registration is due by 31 March of the following year, with an AED 10,000 late-registration penalty reported by advisers.
- Social security
- The federal pension scheme covers UAE and GCC nationals only; expatriate remote workers and freelancers pay no UAE social contributions. The UAE issues no certificate of coverage, so a remote employee's home-country social-security liability depends on home rules and any detached-worker provisions there.
- Treaties
- The UAE has one of the largest double-taxation treaty networks, well over one hundred agreements. Because the UAE levies no personal income tax, the practical effect for a remote employee or contractor is on the home-country side: a UAE Tax Residency Certificate in its DTA form is the document used to claim treaty residence or relief abroad, and the certificate is only issued if one of the domestic tests above is met.
Practicalities
- Bank account
- A full current account requires a residence visa and a physical Emirates ID; residents can open digitally with banks such as Wio or Mashreq Neo, often within a day. Non-residents are limited to savings accounts at a few banks with opening deposits reported from AED 25,000 to AED 100,000 and source-of-wealth checks.
- SIM registration
- SIMs are registered to identity: a passport for visitor SIMs and an Emirates ID for resident lines; lines are linked to the visa status and lapse when residence is cancelled.
- Health insurance
- A health-insurance copy is a required document for the virtual work permit. Insurance is mandatory for residents in Dubai and Abu Dhabi, and a federal basic scheme for private-sector employees in the other emirates took effect on 1 January 2025.
- Address registration
- There is no population register. A registered tenancy contract (Ejari in Dubai, Tawtheeq in Abu Dhabi) or a utility bill serves as proof of address for banks and government services.
- Tax number
- No personal tax number is issued automatically. A Tax Registration Number is only created on registering for VAT or corporate tax on EmaraTax; a Tax Residency Certificate is a separate application on the same portal.
- Overstay penalties
- From 11 February 2026 the ICP unified the overstay fine at AED 50 per day for all visa types across every emirate, with the former grace period for tourist visas removed. GDRFA states a 60-day grace period after a virtual work residence permit expires or is cancelled.
- Emirates ID and medical test
- Every residence permit requires a medical fitness test and an Emirates ID; both are charged separately from the visa fee and the ID is the identity document used for banking, SIMs and government portals.
United Arab Emirates: a one-year remote-work permit, a five-year freelance route and zero income tax
Where remote workers base and why
Dubai takes most of the remote-worker traffic because the virtual work permit is processed there by GDRFA with a published 48-hour completion time, and because co-working, short-let flats and English-language services are dense in Marina, JLT, Business Bay and Downtown. Abu Dhabi is cheaper for rent and quieter, and its Residents Office runs the same federal permit types, though it currently lists Green-visa freelancer nominations as unavailable. Ras Al Khaimah, Ajman and Sharjah are used mainly for lower-cost free-zone freelance permits, since a free-zone permit does not restrict which emirate the holder lives in.
The draw is the absence of personal income tax, the one-year permit without a sponsor, and reliable infrastructure. The costs are high rent, summer heat from May to September that pushes many holders abroad for weeks, and the fact that none of the routes leads to permanent residence or citizenship. A residence permit is also cancelled if the holder stays outside the country for more than six months without arranging a return permit.
What applicants report about the process
Applicants describe the virtual work permit as fast once the file is complete, with the 48-hour figure holding for the entry permit and the total from application to Emirates ID in hand typically two to three weeks because the medical test and biometrics are done in-country. The income proof is the usual point of failure: the salary certificate must show USD 3,500 per month in the applicant's name, and business owners must show ownership documents for a company registered outside the UAE. Some advisers say Dubai now asks for six months of statements rather than three; the official service card does not say so.
Fees are quoted inconsistently. The GDRFA service card lists line items totalling about AED 740 for Dubai, the ICP card about AED 300 for other emirates, and advisers quote around AED 1,225 all-in for Dubai once medical and ID are added. The Green visa for freelancers is reported as hard to obtain in practice because it needs a MOHRE freelance permit, a degree and two years of AED 360,000 income; most self-employed people use a free-zone permit and its two-year visa instead.
Banking and daily money
Banks want a residence visa and a physical Emirates ID for a current account, so the first weeks on any route run on a foreign card, and debit-card fees of a few per cent are common. Once the ID is issued, the digital banks open accounts online in about a day. Non-resident savings accounts exist but with large minimum deposits and source-of-funds checks. Virtual work permit holders report that some banks treat them as salaried employees of a foreign company and ask for the overseas contract and statements; Futura Law notes the permit does not guarantee banking access.
Rent is normally paid by post-dated cheques, which require the account to be open, and registered tenancy contracts are the address document for everything else. Health insurance is compulsory for residence in Dubai and Abu Dhabi and since January 2025 for private-sector employees in the other emirates.
Tax position in practice
Immigration residence and tax residence are separate tests. Holding a permit does not by itself make a person a UAE tax resident; presence of 183 days, or 90 days with a permit plus a home or a UAE business, or a demonstrable centre of life in the UAE does. The Federal Tax Authority issues a Tax Residency Certificate on EmaraTax within 10 business days, and its DTA form is what home-country authorities usually ask for when a remote worker claims to have left their tax net.
There is no personal income tax on remote salaries. A freelancer whose UAE business turnover passes AED 1 million in a calendar year must register for corporate tax by 31 March of the next year and pays 9 per cent on profit above AED 375,000. Expatriates pay no UAE social contributions, and the UAE issues no coverage certificates, so home-country social-security exposure has to be checked separately.
What is changing
The 2026 changes have been about enforcement and access rather than the routes themselves: a flat AED 50 daily overstay fine across all emirates from 11 February 2026, and in June 2026 a new on-arrival category for six nationalities that hold residence permits in the US, EU, UK, Singapore, Japan, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand or Canada. Reports of stricter income evidence for the virtual work permit in Dubai should be treated as unconfirmed until GDRFA publishes it. The Golden visa remains the only route past five years; its official page could not be opened for this dossier, so its thresholds are not stated here.
Researched from gdrfad.gov.ae · adro.gov.ae · mofa.gov.ae · mof.gov.ae · tax.gov.ae · tax.gov.ae · tax.gov.ae · futura.law · visahq.com · bayut.com · the authority
